West Bengal Assembly Bypolls Results, Uttarakhand’s Pithoragarh Bypoll Results Today


Live Updates: Counting Begins For West Bengal, Uttarakhand Bypolls

Results for bypolls to West Bengal ande Uttarakhand Assembly constituencies will be announced today.


Results for bypolls to three West Bengal Assembly constituencies and one Uttarakhand Assembly constituency will be announced on Thursday. In West Bengal, elections were held in Karimganj, Kharagpur Sadar and Kaliaganj constituencies, while in Uttarakhand, a bye-election took place in Pithoragarh constituency.

Counting for votes will begin early morning.

In West Bengal, there are tensions between the Trinamool Congress and BJP over an attack on a BJP candidate during voting on Monday.

BJP’s Karimpur candidate, Jay Prakash Majumdar, was heckled, assaulted and kicked into bushes by the side of the road by Trinamool supporters during polling.

Despite the violence, the assembly segments recorded an impressive overall voter turnout.

“The average voting percentage was 75.48 per cent. The turnout was 77.17 per cent in Kaliaganj, 67.62 per cent in Kharagpur Sadar and 81.23 per cent in Karimpur,” the Election Commission had said.

Here are the LIVE updates of results for West Bengal, Uttarakhand Assembly Bypolls:

Historical Data
State Uttarakhand West Bengal West Bengal West Bengal
Const No. 52044 25034 25077 25224
Const Name Pithoragarh Kaliaganj Karimpur Kharagpur Sadar
Previous Year of Election 2017 2016 2016 2016
Previous Winner Prakash Pant Pramatha Nath Ray Mahua Moitra Dilip Ghosh
Win Party BJP Cong TMC BJP
Win Party% Votes 49.4 52.6 45.2 39.3

Kharagpur Sadar
The seat was vacated by BJP MLA Dilip Ghosh after winning Medinipur Lok Sabha seat earlier this year. BJP’s Prem Chandra Jha is contesting against Chittaranjan Mandal of the Congress-CPI(M) alliance and Pradip Sarkar of the TMC.

Counting begins
The counting has started for the three seats of West Bengal and one seat in Uttarakhand.

Kaliaganj Seat
The Kaliaganj seat felt vacant after the death of the sitting MLA in May.  Congress’ Dhitashree Roy is contesting against TMC’s Tapan Deb Sinha and BJP’s Kamal Chandra Sarkar in Kaliaganj.

Counting begins at 8 am.
The counting for the West Bengal and Uttarakhand by-elections is scheduled to start at 8.00 am.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here